skip navigation


CDH Winfield Award Winners

By Staff, 06/08/16, 1:00AM CDT


Three student athletes recognized at Winfield Awards Banquet.

The 2016 Winfield Awards Banquet included many past and present Raiders.  Cretin-Derham Hall had three finalists for the award that recognizes students of color with a minimum grade point average of 2.5 that participate in sports during their senior year.  Each St. Paul public or private high school may nominate senior student-athletes that fit the criteria.  Students must complete an application form. Several students are selected for an interview with the Winfield Awards Committee.  The committee selects the 5 male and 5 female finalists. A male and female winner is named at the banquet. 

In 2016 Cretin-Derham Hall finalists were Brieasha Hobbs, Billy Olander and Kenneth Udoibok.  Ryan Harris ’03, was the Keynote Speaker for the event. Harris was a starter on the offensive line for the Superbowl Champions Denver Broncos.  In 2016 he will play for the Pittsburg Steelers.   Harris was the male Winfield Award winner in 2003. Bri Jackson ’09, was in attendance as the winner from ’09.  Max Jackson ’15, attended the event and was responsible for announcing the male winner as the 2015 winner.

As usual, it was a great event and 2016 marked a special anniversary for the awards banquet in their 40th year of celebrating super star student-athletes.

Congratulations to Brieasha Hobbs, Billy Olander and Kenneth Udoibok being named Winfield Award Finalists and to Brie and Billy for winning the award. 2016 was the first time that CDH won in both the male and female award.

Cretin-Derham Hall has a long line of Winfield Award Winners:

*indicates Winfield winner
2016 Brieasha Hobbs*, Billy Olander*, Kenneth Udoibok
2015 Max Jackson*, Emma May
2013 James Onwualu*
2012  Kendrick Brewster, Cortez Tillman
2011  Marissa Pederson, Willie Roller III*
2010  Bri Jackson*
2008, Michaela Bird, Michael Floyd, Sean King, Shady Salamon*
2007  Broderick Binns*, Kyle Moore, Natalie Lyman, Rebecca Reed
2006 Lance Bonner*, Ekene Obi
2005 Carlos Castelan
2004 Eva Moses-McDew
2003 Justin Archer, Ryan Wilcox-Harris*
2002  Brandon Archer, Brandon Bowser, Kim Sarin*
2001 Leo Jackson, Rashon Powers-Neal*
2000  Walter Bowser II, Steven Zachary*
1999 Phillip Archer
1997 Kari Bowser*, Vincent Kelly
1995 Theresa Lambert, Verdis Webb III
1993 Carl McCullough
1991 Isreal Moses
1985 Scott Neuman